Paleo Challenge – Day 1 Journal Entry (1/14/13)

First and foremost, I promise you that my posts will not only consist of a summary of my workout and meals for the day. I have a list of various topics that I will be writing about to supplement my meal and workout log…that would be extremely boring if all I ever wrote was what I ate and what I did at the box. However, since Roman decided he would take FOREVER to fall asleep tonight I won’t be writing one of those supplementing posts… I’ll be keeping this one short and sweet.

Today’s workout was the baseline for our strength measurement for the contest…as many wall balls as possible in 5 minutes. Sound easy?? Think again. Wall balls consists of squatting below parallel while holding a 20 pound medicine ball and throwing the ball above a 10 foot high mark on the wall. Your legs begin to burn quickly. Surprisingly the 5 minutes passed quickly (it helps when you can’t see the clock) and I ended with 103 reps…my last rep barely made it half way to the mark; it was pathetic! Tomorrow it’s back to the regular WOD.

Meals:

Pre-workout snack: 2 handfulls of almonds and pre-workout drink.

Post-workout: Protein shake made with water and 32 oz. of water

Breakfast: 3 eggs scrambled, 3 strips of turkey bacon, 1 tsp. fish oil, multivtamin and more water

Lunch: We are being encouraged to do the Zone Diet blocks with our Paleo Challenge and in the Zone Spirit I actually measured out my lunch. 5 oz. turkey, 2 oz. blueberries, 2 oz. raspberries, 1 tablespoon avocado, and 1 tsp. fish oil. Water for my beverage.

Snacks: One handful almonds and one handful homemade trail mix (almonds, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, dried cranberries and shredded coconut).

Dinner: Blackened Tilapia and sauteed kale. More water.

Evening Snack: None

All in all, not bad for the first day. As I mentioned we are being encouraged to use the Zone Diet’s blocks to plan our meals, but I’ve decided to focus on staying true to the Paleo Diet and not blocking out my meals (Sorry, Troy!). I hope to give the Zone Diet a try during the second 30 days…that gives me time to read more on it and better understand how it all works.

Well, so much for short and sweet.

Leave a Reply

