Paleo Challenge – Day 4 Journal Entry (1/17/13)

So far so good. Day 4 has come and gone and the new diet is going well. I haven’t found myself missing any of my old treats, and that’s with plenty of them laying around the house…we’ve got Skittles and M&Ms as rewards for Roman’s potty training. Normally we would both get rewarded, but now only he gets the treat. I know…I know…I’m changing my diet to be healthier, yet I still give my son sugary candy. I’ve been searching for a healthier reward for him and so far I haven’t had any luck. As soon as I find one, the switch will be made.

Tomorrow is my last workout before the competition at my CrossFit box. I’m excited, but a little nervous at the same time. I’ve never participated in a lifting competition and I’ve only been doing CrossFit for 2 months. I know it’s going to be tough, but I just don’t want to suck! I guess we’ll see how Saturday goes…

Today’s summary:

Workout (6 AM): Strength workout-Dead lifts and WOD (visit www.crossfitfishers.com for the workout details)

Meals:

Pre-workout snack: Pre-workout drink.

Post-workout: Protein shake (mixed with water) and 32 oz. of water

Breakfast: 3 eggs scrambled with 2 oz. red and green peppers, 3 strips of turkey bacon, 1 tsp. fish oil, multivitamin and coconut water

Snack: 2 handfuls homemade trail mix

Lunch: 6 oz. turkey, 1 slice avocado, 1 handful blueberries, 1 handful raspberries and water 

Snack: 1.5 oz. Beef Jerky and water

Dinner: Salmon, broccoli and water

Snack: 2 handfuls cranberries

Evening Snack: 1 banana with almond butter

Leave a Reply

