Paleo Challenge – Day 5 Journal (1/18/13)

And today a little fatigue sets in…I’m not sure if this is diet related, or sleep related. I’m not feeling pooped or needing a nap (well I could probably take a nap), but I just feel like I’m dragging a little. It’s not terrible fatigue I’m feeling, but more than I have in the past.

I haven’t felt hungry in between meals and snacks, but with my CrossFit workouts I could see that I may not be eating enough. I guess that’s where the Zone philosophy comes in…if I’m implementing the blocks for my meals, then there is no question on whether or not I am getting enough fuel. The time commitment of measuring out everything is what has kept me from trying the Zone, but if fatigue keeps up then I will have to start measuring everything.

I don’t think my fatigue is diet related; I think I’m not getting enough sleep overnight…like most people. By the time we get Roman to sleep, take care of Leo’s final meal (which right now Mom is taking care of, but I like to try and be awake while she is nursing so she doesn’t feel like I’m no help! I may not be able to feed him, but at least I’m awake with her), write my blog, and get ready for bed it’s 11:30. And I’m getting up at 5:00 to get ready for my 6:00 workout. I just don’t think 5 1/2 hours is going to cut it.

I’ll keep you up to date if I am able to determine if my fatigue is diet or sleep related.

Today’s summary:

Workout (6 AM): Strength workout-Clean squats and WOD (visit www.crossfitfishers.com for the workout details)

Meals:

Pre-workout snack: Pre-workout drink and handful almonds

Post-workout: Protein shake (mixed with 8 oz. coconut water), banana and 32 oz. of water

Breakfast: 3 egg omelet (with NO cheese, bacon, chorizo sausage and spinach), mixed fresh fruit cup, 1 tsp. fish oil, multivitamin and water

Snack: 2 clementines and 8 oz. coconut water

Lunch: 8 oz. coconut breaded chicken strips (homemade Paleo recipe), 2 handfuls blueberries, and water

Snack: Banana

Dinner: Salad (spinach leaves, pecans, and apple slices) with chicken breast, water

Leave a Reply

